葛兰许的故事

Penfolds葛兰许是澳大利亚的标志,也是受到南澳州国家文物托管局(National Trust of South Australia)保护、列入文化遗产的葡萄酒。这种葡萄酒同时体现了地域特点和澳洲农业创新的精髓。

葛兰许的故事讲述了个人奋斗所取得的成功以及超越常人的远见卓识,深植澳大利亚的文化当中。这个故事也承载着历史、声誉与持久品质,与优秀的波尔多葡萄酒有着千丝万缕的联系。

从1951年首批试验葡萄酒到当前发售年份,葛兰许无疑是世界上最负盛名、最受品酒家赞誉、最经典的葡萄酒之一。自诞生以来,这款神奇葡萄酒背后的酿酒理念几乎没有改变,不过,连续四代高瞻远瞩的首席酿酒师始终是葛兰许的守护者,他们不断完善及改进着葛兰许的酿造流程。葛兰许以设拉子为主要原料,经常会加入少量赤霞珠,是一款优美、诱惑、拥有鲜明现代气质的葡萄酒,被收藏家与评论家视为真正与众不同的卓越之酒。

“我们不能惧怕跟随自己的信念,继续利用我们的酿酒创作力,随时准备开展试验,以获得非凡、出色而独特的葡萄酒。”
马斯·舒伯特,前任首席酿酒师、葛兰许缔造者。

经典的诞生

葛兰许的历史是一段耐人寻味的故事,讲述了个人意志与几乎无法对抗的命运之间的抗争。1949年下半年,马斯·舒伯特被派往法国和西班牙调查雪利酒的酿造工艺与波特酒的生产状况。在一次前往波尔多的旅行中,舒伯特参观了梅克多的多家出色的葡萄园酒庄,包括头等苑拉斐酒庄(Château Lafite Rothschild)、拉图尔酒庄(Château Latour)和玛歌酒庄(Château Margaux),在这些酒庄,他获得了“品尝及评估40至50年波尔多葡萄酒的宝贵机会”。正是这次机遇改变了澳大利亚葡萄酒的发展方向。舒伯特对这种法国窖藏风格的葡萄酒印象深刻并从中深受启发,梦想酿造出他自己“既独特又持久”的作品。

回到阿德莱德后,正赶上1950年份酿造,马斯·舒伯特马上着手寻找合适的“原材料”。 舒伯特将传统的澳大利亚工艺、在波尔多获得的新理念与Penfolds的精确酿酒运作结合在一起,于1951年酿造出首款试验葡萄酒。

他的目标是充分提取所采用葡萄原料中所有成分的精华,生产出酒体醇厚饱满的葡萄酒。虽然1951年份酒(从未进行商业发售)所取得的成功有限,但它并未全面反映舒伯特的梦想。

1952葛兰许埃米塔吉(当时的名称)的商业发售在澳大利亚葡萄酒史上是一个历史性的时刻。它标志着一个“葡萄酒王朝”的开端,而这个王朝将会长期地激发着澳大利亚葡萄酒消费者的想象力。

1957年,马斯·舒伯特受邀在悉尼向高级管理层、应邀而来的葡萄酒界名流以及董事会成员私下的好友面前展示他的作品。令他感到沮丧和尴尬的是,这一批葛兰许试验品遭到了普遍恶评。甚至连在阿德莱德的进一步品鉴也给出了负面评价。有一位评论家说:“舒伯特,我要祝贺你。这是非常出色、非常干的波特酒,但没有一个精神正常的人会买的--更不要说喝了。”马斯·舒伯特感到十分尴尬、恼怒又沮丧,他的梦想——“酿造出令澳大利亚人为之骄傲的优秀葡萄酒”——被彻底地摧毁了。葛兰许当时已死。

然而,悉尼高管层与阿德莱德酿酒师之间相隔1400公里,正是这遥远的距离最终拯救了葛兰许。在玛格尔总经理助理Jeffrey Penfold Hyland和舒伯特酿酒师团队的帮助下,所有葛兰许试验品都被藏在了玛格尔的地下酒窖里。从1957至1959年,他们瞒着Penfolds董事会坚持酿造“隐秘的葛兰许”。马斯·舒伯特继续采选葡萄,秘密开展试验。

虽然瞒住了管理层,但朋友和同事还是会偶尔受到马斯·舒伯特邀请,前来品尝。他甚至还送出了部分葡萄酒。1957年葛兰许并未考虑商业发售,但关于舒伯特与众不同的葛兰许埃米塔吉,坊间仍有传闻流出。

Penfolds组织了第二次品鉴会,由同一批董事会成员参加,品尝经过瓶中陈化的1951 与1955年份酒。这些酒得到了品鉴者众口一辞的极高赞誉(1955年份酒后来在葡萄酒展上获得了极为成功成绩)。Penfolds董事会下令重新开始葛兰许的生产,而当时恰逢1960年份酿造。整个二十世纪六十年代中,葛兰许巩固了自己的地位,成为澳大利亚最独特的葡萄酒。接下来便是众人皆知的故事了。 

远见卓识的首席酿酒师

一代又一代具有远见的酿酒师是葛兰许成功的关键。Penfolds的“大师级酿造”工艺与出色的葡萄酒系列在历任马斯·舒伯特继承者手中均得到了稳定的完善与改进。唐·迪特(Don Ditter)、约翰·杜瓦尔(John Duval)及现任首席酿酒师彼得·嘉高都是170年丰富酿酒传统的守护者。

唐·迪特于1942年加入Penfolds,时任试验室助理,1975年舒伯特退休后被任命为马斯•舒伯特继任者。迪特对葛兰许风格有着无法估量的贡献。他对技术细节的关注及其柔和的协作式管理手段将葛兰许带入现代。他的贡献还包括对葡萄园管理以及果实跟踪的大规模革新。在迪特的领导下,葛兰许风格得到改进,香味更新鲜、质地更饱满、果味更饱满成熟,也有了更出色的橡木选择。

迪特的最后一批年份酒--1986年份酒,通常被认为是史上最出色的葛兰许年份酒之一。资深的Penfolds酿酒师约翰·伯德说:“唐·迪特令葛兰许更光滑、更细腻,并将因此受到铭记。”

唐·迪特与马斯·舒伯特很早就意识到了约翰·杜瓦尔的酿酒才华。约翰·杜瓦尔在极为年轻的年纪即被任命为Penfolds首席酿酒师,但他对葛兰许的贡献却非同小可。在他的管理下,葡萄种植与酿酒业务均堪称Penfolds历史上最伟大的发展与革新之一,包括Penfolds的“白葛兰许”项目与突破性的雅塔娜及珍藏Bin霞多丽的面世。美国消费者杂志《葡萄酒观察家》(Wine Spectator)同样也介绍了杜瓦尔任职期间葛兰许获得的两项重要荣誉:2000年,1955葛兰许被评选为二十世纪最优秀的十二种葡萄酒之一;1995年,1990年份酒则被命名为“年度最佳葡萄酒”。2002年,在任职16年后,约翰·杜瓦尔离开了酿酒师的职位。

他的继任者彼得·嘉高是六十年来葛兰许的第四任守护者。嘉高担任Penfolds首席酿酒师之时恰逢互联网时代来临,全球市场需求迅速发生变化。他被詹姆斯·哈利德(James Halliday)称为“永动机式的优秀演讲家、葡萄酒教育家与酿酒师”及“首席大使”,并将葛兰许的故事带入了二十一世纪:他“提高了人们的期望水平”,而且使葛兰许平易近人,充满了魔力与吸引力。2013年,全球最具影响力的两家葡萄酒出版物--罗伯·帕克(Robert Parker)的《葡萄酒倡导家》(Wine Advocate)与《葡萄酒观察家》杂志(Wine Spectator Magazine)均为嘉高监制的2008 葛兰许 给出了满分评价。

今天的葛兰许

在过去六十年中,葛兰许酿酒理念从未有过很大的改变。这几十年中任何风格上的改进都反映出新参考点的出现、葡萄园管理技术与酿酒实践的进步。

今天,葛兰许在澳大利亚葡萄酒历史上的重要地位已经无可置疑。葛兰许被南澳州国家文物托管局列入遗产名单。极具影响力和国际知名度的兰顿澳大利亚葡萄酒分级体系也给予了葛兰许极高的评价,认可了葛兰许在二级葡萄酒市场上的基石地位。葛兰许最近被伦敦葡萄酒交易所Liv-Ex评选为全球最具交易价值的葡萄酒之一。《华尔街日报》(The Wall Street Journal)甚至发布了“道琼斯葛兰许指数”,并配文指出:“每当葡萄酒爱好者回忆起第一次与葛兰许的邂逅,心情就会像回忆起初吻一般!”

1991年第一次开办的Penfolds换塞诊所进一步提高了葛兰许在全球的声誉。该诊所为澳大利亚及全球Penfolds葡萄酒收藏家提供免费换塞服务(针对所有15年及以上的Penfolds红酒),这种做法有效地清除了二级市场上储存状况不佳的葡萄酒。换塞诊所还帮助收藏家和媒体评论家看到了葛兰许在全球各种窖藏环境下展现的长寿特征。

二十世纪四十年代末,战后的澳大利亚踏上了建设现代国家的征途。从战场上返回的马斯·舒伯特梦想着酿造出与众不同、独一无二的美酒。葛兰许的发展反映出当时的国民情绪:强烈的目标感与对发展的渴望。澳大利亚是一个年轻的国家,没有旧世界中长足发展的传统。对于澳大利亚而言,未来就是唯一的焦点与目标。

葛兰许的地位并非通过几个世纪的后见之明与财富累积得来,而是来自试验、错误与坚持。马斯·舒伯特对葛兰许的描述是“欢快--近乎空灵”,令人联想起友谊、快乐与奇迹--这些都是葛兰许体验的精髓。事实证明,葛兰许可以存放发展五十年以上,更为这个有关个人成功与远见卓识的经典故事增添了无尚魅力。

THE STORY OF GRANGE

Penfolds Story Of Grange

Penfolds Grange is an Australian icon - a heritage-listed wine protected by the National Trust of South Australia - which captures both a sense of place and the essence of Australian agricultural ingenuity and innovation.

The story of Grange is one of personal triumph and extraordinary vision, steeped in the Australian ethos. Yet it also bears a history, prestige and lasting quality that interconnect with the great wines of Bordeaux.

From its first experimental vintage in 1951 to its current release, Grange is unquestionably one of the world's most prestigious, critically acclaimed and iconic wines. The winemaking philosophy behind this enigmatic wine has hardly changed since its inception, however a lineage of four visionary Chief Winemakers have been its proud custodians over time and have steadily refined and improved upon the winemaking process. Primarily Shiraz driven often with a small percentage of Cabernet Sauvignon, Grange is a beautifully seductive, defining modern wine, lauded by collectors and observers as a true wine of distinction.

"We must not be afraid to put into effect the strength of our own convictions, continue to use our imagination in winemaking generally, and be prepared to experiment in order to gain something extra, different and unique in the world of wine."
Max Schubert, former Chief Winemaker and creator of Grange.

THE BEGINNING OF AN ICON

The story of Grange is an intriguing tale of one man's vision against almost insurmountable odds. In the latter part of 1949 Max Schubert was sent to France and Spain to investigate sherry-making practices and the production of port. On a side trip to Bordeaux Schubert visited many of the great vineyard estates of the Medoc, including first growths Château Lafite Rothschild, Château Latour and Château Margaux, where he enjoyed the 'rare opportunity of tasting and evaluating Bordeaux wines aged between 40 and 50 years old'. It was an opportunity that would change the course of Australian wine. Inspired and impressed by the French cellared- style wines, Schubert dreamed of making 'something different and lasting' of his own.

Back in Adelaide, in time for the 1950 vintage, Max Schubert set about looking for appropriate 'raw material'. Combining traditional Australian techniques, new ideas from Bordeaux and precision winemaking practices developed at Penfolds, Schubert made his first experimental wine in 1951.

The objective was to produce a big, full-bodied wine containing maximum extraction of all the components in the grape material used. Although the 1951 vintage (which was never commercially released) was moderately successful, it did not fully reflect the ambitions of Schubert.

The commercial release of 1952 Grange Hermitage (as it was then known) was an historic moment for Australian wine. It marked the beginning of a 'dynasty of wines' that would capture the imagination of the Australian wine consumer.

In 1957, Max Schubert was asked to show his efforts in Sydney to top management, invited wine identities and personal friends of the board. To his horror and humiliation the Grange experiment was universally disliked. Even further tastings in Adelaide resulted in negative opinion. One critic observed, 'Schubert, I congratulate you. A very good, dry port, which no one in their right mind will buy – let alone drink.' Embarrassed, angry and dejected, Max Schubert's ambitions to make 'a great wine that Australians would be proud of' were completely destroyed. Grange was dead.

It was the happenstance of distance between senior management in Sydney and winemakers in Adelaide, 1,400 kilometres apart, which saved Grange. With the help of Magill's assistant general manager Jeffrey Penfold Hyland and Schubert's team of winemakers, all the experimental Grange was hidden in the underground cellars of Magill and from 1957 to 1959, the 'hidden Granges' were made without the knowledge of the Penfolds board. Max Schubert continued to source fruit and make his experiments in secret.

Although management was kept away, friends and associates were occasionally brought in to taste the wines. Some bottles were even given away. Although considered uncommercial in 1957, news was filtering out about Schubert's unique Grange Hermitage.

A second tasting with the same board members was organised of the 1951 and 1955 vintages, both with bottle age development, were greeted with enthusiasm (the 1955 went on to have a very successful wine show career). The Penfolds board ordered production of Grange to restart, just in time for the 1960 vintage. During the 1960s Grange firmed its position as Australia's most distinguished wine. The rest is history.

THE VISIONARY CHIEF WINEMAKERS

Key to the success of Grange has been a lineage of visionary winemakers. Penfolds 'mastercraft' winemaking and superb range of wines have been steadily refined and improved upon with each of Max Schubert's successors. Don Ditter, John Duval and current Chief Winemaker Peter Gago have been the custodians of a rich winemaking tradition that goes back for 170 years.

Don Ditter, who joined Penfolds as a laboratory assistant in 1942, was appointed Max Schubert's successor when Schubert retired in 1975. Ditter's contribution to the Grange style is immeasurable. His technical eye for detail and gentle collaborative approach to management took Grange into the modern era. This included a major overhaul of vineyard management and tracking of fruit. Under Ditter's leadership, the Grange style was improved with fresher aromas, more richness and ripeness of fruit and better oak selection.

The 1986 vintage – Ditter's last – is generally regarded as one of the greatest Grange vintages of all time. Veteran Penfolds winemaker John Bird said, "Don Ditter will be best remembered for adding extra polish and finesse to Grange."

The winemaking talents of John Duval were recognised early by Don Ditter and Max Schubert. He was appointed Penfolds Chief Winemaker at a remarkably young age, yet his contribution to the evolution of Grange has been critical. His stewardship saw some of the greatest developments and innovations in viticulture and winemaking, including Penfolds 'White Grange' project and the ground-breaking launch of Yattarna and Reserve Bin Chardonnays. The American consumer magazine Wine Spectator also conferred two important honours during Duval's time: the 1955 Grange was named one of the top twelve wines of the twentieth century in 2000, while the 1990 vintage was named 'Wine of the Year' in 1995. In 2002, after 16 years as winemaker, John Duval stepped down.

Peter Gago, his successor, is the fourth custodian of Grange in sixty years. His appointment as Penfolds Chief Winemaker coincided with the internet age and the expectations of a rapidly changing global market. Described by James Halliday as a 'perpetual-motion brilliant speaker, wine educator and winemaker', and 'Ambassador-in-Chief', Gago brings the Grange narrative into the twenty-first century by 'raising the bar of expectations' and making it accessible, magical and engaging. In 2013, the 2008 Grange crafted under Gago's watch received a perfect score of 100 points by two of the world's most influential wine publications, Robert Parker's Wine Advocate and Wine Spectator Magazine.

GRANGE TODAY

The Grange winemaking philosophy hasn't really changed over the last sixty years. Any refinements of style over the decades reflect new reference points, evolution of vineyard management and winemaking practices.

Today, Grange's iconic position in Australian wine history is undisputed. Grange is uniquely heritage-listed by the South Australian National Trust. It also heads up the highly influential and internationally recognised Langton's Classification of Australian Wine – in recognition of Grange's cornerstone presence on the secondary wine market. In recent times Grange has been ranked as one of the most tradeable wines in the world by Liv-Ex – the London Wine Exchange. The Wall Street Journal has even published a Dow Jones Grange Index; the accompanying text was, 'Wine lovers remember their first Grange the way they remember their first kiss!'

The Penfolds Re-corking Clinics, first initiated in 1991, have further enhanced the reputation of Grange around the world. A complimentary re-corking service, offered to collectors in Australia and around the world (for any bottle of Penfolds wines aged 15 years and older), has effectively weeded out poorly stored bottles in the secondary wine market. It has also allowed collectors and media observers to appreciate the longevity of Grange, notwithstanding the diversity of cellaring environments across the globe.

In the late 1940s post-war Australia was embarking on a journey to modern nationhood. Max Schubert, a returned soldier, dreamed of making something different and unique in the world of wine. The development of Grange reflects a national mood: a sense of purpose and an enthusiasm for progress. Australia is a young country and does not have the highly evolved traditions of the Old World. The future is its only reference point.

The stature of Grange has been achieved not through the hindsight of centuries of heritage and accumulated wealth, but through trial, error and persistence. Max Schubert described Grange as 'buoyant – almost ethereal', evocative of friendship, happiness and wonder – the essence of the Grange experience. It has proven to be a wine that can evolve and last more than fifty years, further enhancing this timeless story of personal triumph and extraordinary vision.

Find out more about the current vintage of Grange and view the tasting notes.