彼得·嘉高

Penfolds首席酿酒师

彼得·嘉高

彼得·嘉高出生于英国纽卡斯尔(Newcastle),六岁时随全家移居澳大利亚,定居于维多利亚州大都市——墨尔本。在墨尔本大学获得理学士学位后,彼得成为了一名化学兼数学老师。此后,他才陷入了对葡萄酒的长久热爱之中,而这一过程常被戏称为“葡萄的诱惑”。彼得因此迁往阿德莱德,在罗斯沃瑟学院(Roseworthy College)读取了应用科学(酿酒学)学士学位。

作为优等生毕业后,彼得在1989年加入Penfolds酿酒团队,最初从事起泡葡萄酒的酿造,后转而酿造红葡萄酒,并担任Penfolds红葡萄酒的酿酒学家。凭借对酿酒与生俱来的的热爱与激情,彼得迅速成为酿酒团队的重要成员,并于2002年接任约翰·杜瓦尔,成为了Penfolds首席酿酒师。

彼得兢兢业业、精力充沛,他的奉献精神无人能比。在最为重要的上半年里,他辛勤地奔波劳作于葡萄酒厂和葡萄园之间,确保Penfolds的葡萄种植保持在世界一流水平,并不断了解每一座葡萄园、每一个产区的细微差别。每个年份的酿造完成后,他会充满激情地投身于其他角色当中——Penfolds大使与自然教育者。作为葛兰许仅有的第四代守护者,彼得在国际上非常受欢迎,他期盼能将Penfolds葡萄酒带至全球。频频亮相令他不仅保持敏锐,充满激情,还对世界葡萄酒风格十分精通。

彼得与其他酿酒师团队成员共同努力,精心守护葛兰许以及Penfolds家族中其他的“资深”酒品,保证这些葡萄酒不断在风格与品质上设立新的标杆,与此同时,新成员的加入也在不断拓展着Penfolds葡萄酒世界的疆域。彼得对澳大利亚葡萄酒业的突出贡献得到了葡萄酒协会的首肯。他在2012年荣膺葡萄酒大师协会(Institute of the Masters of Wine)与英国行业期刊《饮品行业》(The Drinks Business)颁发的“最佳酿酒师”大奖(Winemaker's Winemaker Award)。

Peter Gago

Penfolds Chief Winemaker

Penfolds Chief Winemaker Peter Gago

Born in Newcastle, England, Peter Gago and his family moved to Australia when he was six, settling in the cosmopolitan city of Melbourne, Victoria. After completing a Bachelor of Science from the University of Melbourne, Peter launched his career as a chemistry and mathematics teacher before succumbing to a long held interest in wine, often referred to as ‘the grip of the grape’ which saw Peter relocate to Adelaide and complete a Bachelor of Applied Science (Oenology) at Roseworthy College.

After graduating as dux, Peter joined the winemaking team at Penfolds in 1989, initially in the craftsmanship of sparkling wines, before moving on to reds where he entered the role of Penfolds Red Wine Oneologist. With a natural affinity and passion for winemaking, Peter quickly became an integral part of the winemaking team and in 2002 he succeeded John Duval as Penfolds Chief Winemaker.

Engaging and energetic, Peter has a dedication that is unsurpassed. He spends the first, and most important, half of the year labouring from winery to vineyard, ensuring that Penfolds viticultural practices are world-class, and understanding the nuances of each vineyard and region. Post vintage, he enthusiastically embarks on his other role as an ambassador and natural educator. As only the fourth custodian of Grange, Peter is in high demand internationally and he relishes bringing Penfolds wines to the world. The exposure keeps him sharp, enthused and well-versed in world wine styles.

Together with his fellow winemakers, Peter’s careful custodianship has ensured that Grange, and the other ‘older’ members of the Penfolds family, have continued to set the benchmark for their style and quality, while new additions to the range push the boundaries ever wider. Celebrated by the wine fraternity for shining a spotlight on the successes of Australian wine, in 2012 Peter received the ‘Winemaker’s Winemaker’ award, presented by the Institute of the Masters of Wine and UK industry publication -The Drinks Business.