马斯·舒伯特

首席酿酒师(1948-1975)

Past Penfolds Chief Winemaker Max Schubert

葛兰许的创造者马斯·舒伯特是澳大利亚二十世纪最重要的葡萄酒人物之一。

马斯于1931年加入Penfolds,从事最基础的跑腿工作。他通过与经验丰富的化学家及酿酒师一起工作,逐渐积累酿酒知识。马斯从未正式学习酿酒学,但他的实践经验、与生俱来的好学天性以及出色的团队领导能力共同造就了多项重大创新,影响了整个澳大利亚葡萄酒业。

舒伯特于1948至1975年期间担任Penfolds国家产品经理(首席酿酒师)。他最伟大的成就非葛兰许莫属——这款葡萄酒改变了澳大利亚葡萄酒历史的进程,为后世酿酒师铺平了前进的道路。

马斯一生获得很多奖项,包括澳大利亚爵级员佐勋章(AM)与首届莫里斯·奥西奖(Maurice O’Shea Award),以表彰其为澳大利亚葡萄酒业做出的贡献。他还被英国《醇鉴》杂志(Decanter Magazine)评选为1988年度人物。

澳大利亚葡萄酒作家詹姆斯·哈利德(James Halliday)写道:“他并不比我们任何人完美,但在葡萄酒方面,他的作品比我们任何人都接近完美。”

Max Schubert

Penfolds Chief Winemaker (1948-1975)

Past Penfolds Chief Winemaker Max Schubert

Max Schubert, the creator of Grange, was one of the most important Australian winemaking figures of the twentieth century.

Max joined Penfolds in 1931 as a messenger boy. He learned his craft by working with some of the most experienced chemists and winemakers of the time. He never formally studied oenology, but his practical experience, natural inquisitiveness and team leadership led to remarkable innovations in winemaking, many of which influenced the entire Australian wine industry.

Schubert was appointed Penfolds National Production Manager (Chief Winemaker) from 1948 to 1975. His greatest achievement was Grange - a wine that would alter the course of Australian wine history and pave the way for future generations of winemakers.

In his lifetime Max received many awards, including Member of the Order of Australia (AM) and the inaugural Maurice O'Shea Award for his contribution to the Australian wine industry. He was also named 1988 Man of the Year by the UK's Decanter Magazine.

James Halliday, Australian wine writer, noted, "He was no more perfect than any of us, but he went as close to creating perfection in wine as anyone is ever likely to do."