约翰·杜瓦尔

首席酿酒师(1986-2002)

Past Penfolds Chief Winemaker John Duval

约翰·杜瓦尔在阿德莱德附近的莫菲特谷(Morphett Vale)中一座混合农场上长大。他家担任Penfolds果农为时已久。事实上,Penfolds玛格尔庄园葡萄园中各个区块的种植就使用了来自杜瓦尔葡萄园的设拉子插条。

在阿德莱德大学获得农业科学学位、在罗斯沃尔斯学院获得硕士文凭后,杜瓦尔于1974年加入Penfolds。作为助理酿酒师,他在为经理约翰·达沃(John Davoren)和凯文·施罗特(Kevin Schroeter)工作的过程中积累了早期经验。

1989年,约翰在英国国际葡萄酒与烈酒大赛上获得“年度最佳国际酿酒师”的称号。1991年及2000年,他两次被伦敦国际葡萄酒挑战赛评选为年度最佳红葡萄酒酿酒师。

约翰·杜瓦尔负责监管Penfolds多项开发事务,包括Bin 407赤霞珠、Bin 138巴罗萨谷设拉子-歌海娜-幕尔维德与RWT设拉子的研发酿造。此前雅塔娜霞多丽的发售广受赞扬,令白葛兰许项目达到前所未有的高度,该项目同时也促进了派生酒款——珍藏Bin A霞多丽的诞生。

2002年,在Penfolds完成28年的辉煌职业生涯之后,首席酿酒师约翰光荣卸任。此后,他成立了自己的国际酿酒顾问公司,并且开始自行酿造葡萄酒。

John Duval

Penfolds Chief Winemaker (1986-2002)

Past Penfolds Chief Winemaker John Duval

John Duval grew up on a mixed farm at Morphett Vale near Adelaide. His family were longstanding Penfolds growers. In fact, Shiraz cuttings from the Duval’s vineyard were used to plant blocks at Penfolds Magill Estate Vineyard.

After completing an Agricultural Science degree at Adelaide University and a postgraduate diploma in Oenology at Roseworthy College, Duval joined Penfolds in 1974. As an Assistant Winemaker he gained early experience working under managers John Davoren and Kevin Schroeter.

In 1989, John was named International Winemaker of the Year at the UK’s 1989 International Wine & Spirit Competition. In 1991, and again in 2000, he was named Red Winemaker of the Year at the International Wine Challenge in London.

John Duval oversaw many developments at Penfolds including the creation of Bin 407 Cabernet Sauvignon, Bin 138 Barossa Valley Shiraz-Grenache-Mourvèdre and RWT Shiraz. The White Grange project, which would culminate in the release of the much vaunted Yattarna Chardonnay, also led to the spin-off Reserve Bin A Chardonnay.

In 2002, John stepped down as Chief Winemaker, after a 28-year distinguished career at Penfolds. He has since built up an international winemaking consultancy business and makes his own wine.