唐·迪特

首席酿酒师(1975-1986)

Past Penfolds Chief Winemaker Don Ditter

唐·迪特从小在南澳州巴罗萨谷长大,1942年12月加入Penfolds,最初在阿德莱德玛格尔葡萄酒厂担任试验室助理。

1950年,唐在罗斯沃尔斯农业学院以一等荣誉顺利毕业。随后,他被重新任命,在巴罗萨谷中的Penfolds努里乌特帕担任助理酿酒师。1953年,他受到悉尼的邀请,在亚历山德拉(Alexandria)以及Penfolds维多利亚女王酒窖中改进酒窖运营与装瓶业务。

1963年,迪特升为新南威尔士州生产经理,负责悉尼、明兴宝利(Minchinbury)、格里菲斯(Griffith)和猎人谷的酿酒运作。作为首席酿酒师,他监管了Penfolds的南澳州酿酒业务整合。其中包括了在葡萄园管理、果实跟踪、酿酒与装瓶业务完善等方面的大规模整顿。在蔻兰山上市以及Bin 707再次上市后,Penfolds迎来了黄金时代,迪特也将葛兰许风格带入了现代。

他于1986年退休,不过仍为Penfolds提供长期顾问协助。2008年,迪特凭借其对“澳大利亚葡萄酒业的出色服务”,特别是作为Penfolds酒业首席酿酒师所取得的成就而获得澳大利亚爵级勋章(OAM) 。

Don Ditter

Penfolds Chief Winemaker (1975-1986)

Raised in South Australia's Barossa Valley, Don Ditter started work with Penfolds as a Laboratory Assistant at the Magill winery in Adelaide, in December 1942.

After graduating in 1950 with first class honours from Roseworthy Agricultural College, Don was reassigned as an Assistant Winemaker at Penfolds Nuriootpa in the Barossa Valley. He was lured to Sydney in 1953 to improve cellar operations and bottling at Penfolds Queen Victoria Cellars and at Alexandria.

In 1963 Ditter was promoted to New South Wales Production Manager, responsible for winemaking operations in Sydney, Minchinbury, Griffith and the Hunter Valley. As Chief Winemaker, he oversaw the consolidation of Penfolds winemaking to South Australia. This included a major overhaul of vineyard management, tracking of fruit, refinements in winemaking and bottling. A golden period followed with the release of Koonunga Hill and the re-release of Bin 707, and Ditter took the Grange style into the modern era.

Ditter retired in 1986 but remains a longstanding consultant with Penfolds. In 2008, Ditter received the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for ‘service to the Australian Wine Industry’, particularly for his achievements as Chief Winemaker at Penfolds Wines.