亚当·克莱

红葡萄酒酿酒师

亚当·克莱

亚当·克莱在南澳州出生、长大,他的童年时代在河地及阿德莱德山区度过。怀着对科学的强烈兴趣,亚当取得了生物技术荣誉学位,随后又开始攻读葡萄树抗病能力方面的博士学位。

最初对理论研究的兴趣很快演变成为加入酿酒实践的渴盼,亚当在完成了酿酒学专业、系统的学习后,于2007年加入奔富,担任年份酒酿造师。

亚当目前从事各种红葡萄酒酿酒业务,并已在奔富完成了八批年份酒的酿造。他深爱着酿酒工作的季节性特点与作为酿酒师的多样职责。亚当希望能够酿造出既可在新酿时期饮用,又拥有陈化与窖藏潜力的葡萄酒,因此他采用了传统与创新相结合的酿造技术,也反映出奔富170年的酿酒理念。

Penfolds Bin 389是亚当最喜爱的葡萄酒之一。他认为这是一种真正独特的澳大利亚葡萄酒--赤霞珠与设拉子混合酿造,历史已超过50年。

亚当的伴侣也同为酿酒师,所以美食、美酒已成为他生活中重要而宝贵的一部分。他还喜欢参观国内外的葡萄酒产区,积极参与Penfolds的各种活动,包括2013年的上海换塞诊所——一项在中国大陆史无前例的活动。这些活动为亚当提供了与全球Penfolds收藏家互动的独特机遇。

Adam Clay

Penfolds Red Winemaker

Penfolds Winemaker Adam Clay

Born and raised in South Australia, Adam Clay spent his childhood in the Riverland and Adelaide Hills. With a keen interest in science, Adam completed his Honours Degree in Biotechnology, before beginning a PhD researching grapevine disease resistance.

What began as a theoretical interest soon became a desire to engage with the practical side of winemaking, with Adam completing his studies in Oenology and joining Penfolds in 2007 as a vintage winemaker.

Now working across the red wine portfolio, Adam has completed eight vintages at Penfolds and embraces the seasonal and diverse nature of his role. With a passion for crafting wines that allow for enjoyment in their youth, whilst also providing the opportunity to age and cellar, Adam employs both traditional and innovative winemaking techniques, reflective of Penfolds 170-year old philosophy.

Amongst his favourite wines is Penfolds Bin 389, which Adam acknowledges as a truly unique Australian offering – blending Cabernet Sauvignon with Shiraz to create a wine which now has a pedigree reaching back over 50 years.

Married to a fellow winemaker, food and wine are a significant and valued part of Adam’s life and he enjoys visiting wine regions both at home and abroad. His involvement in Penfolds events, including the 2013 Shanghai Re-corking Clinic – the first of its kind in Mainland China, also provides Adam with the unique opportunity to engage with Penfolds collectors around the world.